The 3rd Annual Gathering of Southern California Exoplaneteers

September 18-19, 2017

Beckman Institute Auditorium
California Institute of Technology

ExSoCal 2017 Attendees

Exoplanet science continues to be a rapidly increasing field in Southern California. To capitalise on this, we are organising the third annual gathering of local exoplanet scientists to allow members of the community get to know one another and to learn about the many opportunities for collaborations.

We have set aside September 18 and 19 in Caltech's Beckman Institute Auditorium to welcome the many new exoplanet researchers who will be arriving in the fall, including, of course, new grad students. We are planning a two-day event with a few invited presentations, but with an emphasis on contributed talks by our new arrivals. In addition to Caltech, IPAC/NExScI, and JPL scientists, we are extending an invitation to our Carnegie and local University of California and California State University colleagues.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

  • Dr. Eve Lee, Sherman Fairchild Fellow (Caltech)
  • Dr. Aomawa Shields, Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professor (UC Irvine)
  • Dr. Johanna Teske, Carnegie Origins Fellow (Carnegie Observatories/DTM)

Pictures from ExSoCal 2017 can be viewed here.

Registration and Abstract Submission Link

The abstract submission deadline is Sept. 6; the registration deadline is Sept. 8

Outreach Session

ExSoCal 2017 will feature a session focused entirely on the topic of outreach endeavors. Our aim is to facilitate the sharing of ideas and methodology as well as possible collaborations between attendees at the same or nearby institutions. To this end we thus encourage attendees to submit talk abstracts to discuss outreach activities at their local institution. We note that these ideas do not have to be specific to exoplanet science but instead could discuss any outreach endeavor that pertains to astronomy.



Caltech Campus Map with venue marked

Scientific Organizing Committee

Local Organizing Committee

Calen Henderson, Chair (Caltech/IPAC-NExScI)

Ricky Nilsson, Chair (Caltech)

Elodie Choquet (JPL)

Ellen O'Leary (Caltech/IPAC-NExScI)

Andrew Howard (Caltech)

Rahul Patel (Caltech/IPAC)

Tiffany Kataria (JPL)

Garreth Ruane (Caltech)

Wladimir Lyra (CSUN)

Marie Ygouf (Caltech/IPAC)

Smadar Naoz (UCLA)

Erik Petigura (Caltech-GPS)

Link to previous meetings: ExSoCal2015 and ExSoCal2016

If you have questions, email us at:

(last updated January 30th, 2018 11:12:29)