Caltech     IPAC           JPL           NASA

2010 Sagan Fellowships

This call is now closed.


Carl Sagan

The NASA Exoplanet Science Institute announces the 2010 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and solicits applications for fellowships to begin in the fall of 2010.

The Sagan Fellowships will support outstanding recent postdoctoral scientists to conduct independent research that is broadly related to the science goals of the NASA Exoplanet Exploration program. The primary goal of missions within this program is to discover and characterize planetary systems and Earth-like planets around nearby stars. Sagan Fellowships are joined by two other NASA astrophysics theme-based fellowship programs: the Einstein Fellowship Program which supports the Physics of the Cosmos research, and the Hubble Fellowship Program which supports Cosmic Origins research.

The proposed research may be theoretical, observational, or instrumental. This program is open to applicants of any nationality who have earned (or will have earned) their doctoral degrees on or after January 1, 2007, in astronomy, physics, or related disciplines. The fellowships are tenable at U.S. host institutions of the fellows' choice, subject to a maximum of one new fellow per host institution per year. The duration of the fellowship is up to three years: an initial one-year appointment and two annual renewals contingent on satisfactory performance and availability of NASA funds.

We anticipate awarding 5 fellowships in 2010. Please note that these are postdoctoral Fellowships only. Previous Michelson Fellowship holders are fully eligible to apply.


A complete application will include:

The deadline for both applications and letters of reference is Thursday, November 5, 2009 at 4 PM PST. Offers will be made before February 1, 2010, and new appointments are expected to begin on or about September 1, 2010.

For inquiries, email us at:

The 2009 Sagan Postdoctoral Fellows are listed here.

Click on the following link for the 2009 application guidelines.

Previous recipients of the Michelson Postdoctoral Fellowship are listed here.

Previous recipients of the Michelson Graduate Student Fellowship are listed here.